Connect with us
Google Adsense


3 Roosterettes nominated in the Women’s team of the year

Its been a great year for our women, and their hard work and achievement has been acknowledged by the BDAFL with 3 members of our Roosterettes nominated in the GE Women’s Team of the Year.

Our nominees:

Tori Cowburn has been nominated in the backs. This season has been Tori’s first year of Aussie Rules. With not knowing the game, her determination and competitiveness has built her into one of Singletons finest. Her fast, natural athleticism has seen her cause havoc for many teams this season. As the season has progressed so has Tori and she has become a good leader who inspires her team.

Kaylah Jeffriess-Tapper has been a crucial part of the team this year in the ruck. Her aggression to win the ball sets her apart from the rest, and week in week out she has shown that she will do anything for her team by putting her body on the line. Kaylah has been named is Singletons best many times this season and its great to see her nominated here.

The Roostertte’s coach Andrew McPherson has been nominated as the coach for the women’s team of the year. Andrew is a young coach new to the scene. He has experience as a multiple premiership player and most recently captained the Black Diamond Plate side to their 2016 premiership. His kind nature and sportsmanship has seen him connect strongly with his women’s team and get the best out of them. They went from a high last year of kicking a goal to this season first ever win. They then created more club history by winning 4 games in a row and went on to finish the season with 6 wins. An awesome development for our much loved Roosterette’s.

The team of the year will be announced at next weeks Elliott Davey Medal Presentation Night and has been selected by the Women’s coaches.

Good luck to our nominees.

Full list of nominations.

Defenders (six to be selected)

Emily Bohan (Wyong Lakes) Kate Booth (Warners Bay) Tori Cowburn (Singleton)
Casey Eacott (Newcastle) Kate Holland (Nelson Bay) Kailee Goodwin (Newcastle City)
Amy MacPherson (Lake Macquarie) Monique Maddalena (Killarney Vale)  Hayley West (Nelson Bay)

Midfielders (eight to be selected)

Sophie Balcombe (Nelson Bay) Emily Crookes (Gosford) Jacqui Dudgeon (Maitland)
Audrey Gillingham (Newcastle City) Maddi Kacarovski (Gosford) Holly Kozlik (Lake Macquarie)
Paige Mathewson (Newcastle City) Alison Parkin (Gosford) Alex Pearce (Wyong Lakes)
Rachael Potts (Wyong Lakes) Rosie Ronan-Yates (Newcastle) Lisa Steane (Nelson Bay)

Forwards (six to be selected)

Sarah Burns (Maitland) Georgia Butler (Killarney Vale) Kaitlyn Douglass (Nelson Bay)
Sarah Halvorsen (Newcastle City) Ashlee Hayllar (Newcastle City) Emma-Jayne Howe (Lake Macquarie)
Sarah James (Maitland) Meaghan MacDonald (Newcastle City)  Jess Phillips (Nelson Bay)
Amy Worth (Maitland)

Rucks (two to be selected)

Dianne Crep (Warners Bay) Rebecca Ives (Wyong Lakes) Kaylah Jeffriess-Tapper (Singleton)
Mollie Palmer (Cardiff) Pippa Smyth (Nelson Bay)

Coach (one to be selected)

Tracy Baker (Warners Bay) Simon Berry (Gosford) James Byrnes (Lake Macquarie))
Paul Cooksley (Cardiff) Lauren Cooper (Nelson Bay) Mark Curran (Maitland)
Ken Garland (Muswellbrook) Andrew MacPherson (Singleton) Nathan Wilmott (Newcastle City)
Adam Tasker (Wyong Lakes) Brendan Wood (Killarney Vale) Chaz Wornes (Newcastle

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Upcoming Event

Big thanks to our sponsors

More in News