Connect with us
Google Adsense


Singleton coach Andrew Scott a shoe-in for representative squad

FLYING HIGH: Scott has found four goals in the Roosters' opening five games.

FLYING HIGH: Scott has found four goals in the Roosters’ opening five games.

When Singleton Roosters’ playing coach Andrew Scott notched up his 100th game for NEAFL club Mt Gravatt in 2011 local football scribes cast the midfielder as ‘Mr Reliable’.

Fast forward eight years later and not much has changed for the ball-winner who has once again been selected in the AFL Hunter Central Coast 35-man representative squad.

The talented line-up will play host to the South Coast at the Pasterfield Sports Complex on Saturday May 18.

While Scott was the only Rooster to be picked in this year’s campaign there was never any doubt over his selection following two best on ground performances in recent campaigns.

Earlier this year the 31-year-old was judged as the league’s number one player to watch in Singleton Argus’ top ten players list.

The accolade was a reflection of his versatility in his 15th season of senior football after making his QAFL debut for the Western Magpies at the tender age of 16 in 2005.

Former Sydney Swan premiership player and current Nelson Bay Marlin Craig Bird (unavailable) makes for the notable absence in the squad.

Cardiff is well represented with seven players while ladder leaders Newcastle City and Terrigal Avoca feature six each.

2018 Davey medallist Tim Oosterhoff headlines the four Killarney Vale players selected.

FULL SQUAD: Maca O’Malley, Conor Haswell, Aidan Watling, Reed van Huisstede, Harrison Selkirk, Hugh Blachfield (Newcastle City); Brandon Thomas, Jack Grimmond, Nathan Belbin, Kurt Fleming, Lachlin Bayliss, Corbin Bond (Terrigal Avoca); Tim Oosterhoff, Brendan Lewis, Josh Mifsud, Alex Bailey (Killarney Vale); Billy Barton (Nelson Bay); Pat Murphy, Tristan Carter (Gosford); Trent Thompson, Jack Lennon, Marcus Deleur, Jack Pratt, Bryce Graetz, Nick Tomlinson, Izaac Hughes (Cardiff); Isaish Olsen, Matthew Spinks (Warners Bay), Andrew Scott (Singleton), Brayden Tos, Carter Jones (Wyong Lakes), Pat McMahon (Maitland).

By Alex Tigani 
(Singleton Argus) 

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Big thanks to our sponsors

More in News